An adventure

orangeslice

Driving in the snow….

We are basically experts now.  I see those areas that cancel snow when there are only a few inches on the ground as wimps. 

 

So when my morning commute is being disrupted by snow, I have a system.

My alarm is set for 4:20. I get up and check the driveway for snow drifts– this involves walking up and down our entire driveway. It’s a long walk. If I see none, and the driveway is passable, I go back in and start to get ready. If there’s snow drifts, it’s time to bust out the snow blower.

I run my normal schedule about half an hour earlier than normal. As I get ready, I very seriously watch the traffic. I never use only one source. Two traffic apps on my phone, traffic.com, and the news. They are all I can listen to, look at on these mornings.

When 57 is bad, I take Ridgeland. Ridgeland– such a hidden little gem that no one knows about. I feel like I’m taking some sort of secret passage. It doesn’t go through all the way, so you have to take Oak Forest Ave. (another hidden gem that is my favorite). It’s all perfect. When 57 isn’t bad… I stick with it.

Some mornings, the streets aren’t plowed (like this past Wednesday) and those mornings are a little scary. Getting out of my neighborhood of little country roads can be like a challenge. You never know where you will find a snow drift, or encounter blowing, blizzard-y snow.

When I get to work, though, I feel some sense of accomplishment. I’ve made it. I got through the snow, the slippery slidey roads. I made it with the other people trying their hardest to make it to work on time. I enjoyed a little extra ‘me’ time… dancing, laughing, listening to the radio. It’s an adventure. Any adventure you go on, you must plan for. And this is an adventure that I spend my time planning for, even if it isn’t the best of circumstances.

About peanutrwco

My memories are something that I treasure. Some memories I want to capture in writing because I want to be able to share them from generation to generation, others are just something I want to keep in my heart. Whether it's something that just happened or something that happened years ago, I want to have it to keep.
This entry was posted in sliceoflife, snowstorms, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An adventure

  1. Adrienne says:

    I’ve lived in Portland, OR for almost 20 years and I do not miss those commutes. People here panic when any snow falls and it is quite funny to behold. This has been a hard winter for most and my sister has told me many tales of her harrowing drives to and from work. I’m glad to hear you got to work safely.

  2. Katie Diez says:

    YES! I was having those same moments yesterday….how to find the backroad “gems” that help make getting to work much easier. Well said! I loved this!

  3. I drive on those little “gems” all the time. Forget the highway is what I say!

  4. tsudmeier says:

    I loved how you view those other routes as little gems. It makes them feel so special. A really interesting way to tell the story of a very ordinary event- although hopefully the snowy mornings are an event that will not be around too much longer!

  5. peteacher1 says:

    “I have a system.” So confident, so sure, so true for so many things we do. The “secret passage.” I It’s so fun to take the road less traveled and know a “secret” that many others don’t yet know. Good slice!

  6. nmjoy24 says:

    I give you so much credit on those days you’re “busting out the snowblower” that early in the morning! That makes me so much more thankful about the snow I have to dust off my car.

Leave a Reply

