Where we are from

Becomes a piece of us.

Not all of us, it doesn’t define us, but it makes up a part of WHO we are and WHO we become.

I am a girl from a blue collar family, with a dad who had to work hard to provide for his children and a mom who stayed home to be with us all.

I am a girl who is the oldest of four children, who has always had this need to take care of others.

I am a girl who had a job at a young age.  That is how I had to pay for things–  clothes, shoes, time with friends.  This money had to come from my own pocket.

I am a girl whose family didn’t have a lot of money.  I watched my dad work hard, I watched my mom go back to work, I watched my dad be laid off from jobs.

I am a girl who paid her way through college.  (And is still paying her way through college)

I am a girl who appreciated the little things–  like time with my family, being outside in nature, reading a book.

And now, I work hard, because it’s what I’ve learned.

I am a woman who has learned the value of family, who has learned the value of working hard for what you desire in life.

I am a woman, who has been able to work hard, and earn the things that I want and need.

I am a woman, who works with the kids of where I came from.

I am a woman, who wants them to know that when you put in the effort, the work, the time–  you create wonderful things for yourself.

You never LOSE where you are from.  It helps you grow.  It helps you BE something.  You just have to choose what that something is, and own it.

About peanutrwco

My memories are something that I treasure. Some memories I want to capture in writing because I want to be able to share them from generation to generation, others are just something I want to keep in my heart. Whether it's something that just happened or something that happened years ago, I want to have it to keep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where we are from

  1. ccahill2013 says:

    Rachel – I love this slice!! It was just beautiful. I loved how you found such a subtle way to move from “girl” to “woman”. Very nice!!

  2. mettamusic says:

    I hope you share this with your students! You have created wonderful things for yourself.

Leave a Reply

